*GASP* Let’s Talk Religion!

In today’s society, so many things are taboo to talk about.  Politics, age, weight, religion.. the list goes on and on.  Well, on my blog the word taboo does not exist.  So let’s broach the first forbidden topic, the one I most prefer to receive input on: Religion.  Today on my Facebook page, I posted a status asking what happens to homosexual virgins.  Well, that sparked a debate from hell.  And I’m positive it’s not over.  Everyone has an opinion and I love hearing them all and even though I  might disagree, I respect them all.  I am not here to convince you to believe what I believe, only to inform you that there is always another side to the story or belief.

I guess the best way to start is to say that I want to believe.  And in some ways I do.  I believe someone is up there looking over us.  I believe in heaven and hell.  I believe that there is something greater than all of us out there.  I guess what I do not belie..er.. let me rephrase.  I guess what I have issues agreeing with is the Good Book itself.  The Bible, just like many other books and beliefs, is dated.  These men who wrote the Bible very well may have been inspired by the omniscient one himself, but in my experience, inspired by means they felt it.  There is no factual basis in inspiration.  I’m inspired every day to write about something or read about it.  Where this inspiration comes from, I have NO clue.  They say their’s came from above.  Ok, fine, if you believe that, more power to you.  But do not shove it down my throat at every turn.  As you can tell, I have issues in Faith.

Let’s discuss issues I have with this fine piece of literature.  I believe several parts are degrading and disrespectful to women.

“women should remain silent in churches. They are not allowed to speak, but must be in submission…”1 Corinthians 14:34
“Wives submit to your husbands, as is fitting to the Lord.” Colossians 3:18

“women should remain silent in churches. They are not allowed to speak, but must be in submission…”1 Corinthians 14:34

“Wives submit to your husbands, as is fitting to the Lord.” Colossians 3:18

“Let a woman learn in quietness with all subjection. But I permit not a woman to teach, nor to have dominion over a man, but to be in quietness.  For Adam was first formed, then Eve;  and Adam was not beguiled, but the woman being beguiled hath fallen into transgression: but she shall be saved through her child-bearing, if they continue in faith and love and sanctification with sobriety.” (1 Timothy 2:11-15, American Standard Version)

These are just a few.  Now, I’m a freethinker, a writer, and I ask a lot questions.  I understand the Bible is open for interpretation (which I will address more later).  However, reading these quotes, it would appear that women were to be considered inferior to man and that we should just keep our mouths shut!  HA!! Like that will ever happen!!

Another big issue is the subject of homosexuality.  This one, I am not quoting the Bible on.  Sodom and Gomorrah.  Two cities destroyed because of acts of homosexuality.  Are we not taught that God loves everyone, even those who do not live by his word?  So explain that one.  And when I go to research quotes on love in the Bible, I find scriptures that imply God only loves those who love him.  Does that not go against everything we are taught about human kindness and empathy?  It also tells us to love our fellow man, yet people use the Bible to explain away harming homosexuals.  The more I read, the more confused I get!!

I am also bothered by those who just believe what they are told.  I  know several religious individuals.  Very few of whom have actually read and researched different religious beliefs and chosen the one with which they most believe.  With so many different religions to choose from, who is to say which is right and which is wrong?  Is Allah real or is it God?  What about Buddhism and Taoism?  Should I be one of those?  How many have actually sat and learned the ways of all of them and followed it to the word.  I will say this, whomever your God might be, I highly doubt he is telling you to kill anyone in his name!

My issues with faith and the like are my own.  I’d like to make the right choice and be forgiven for my sins, but who am I supposed to ask for forgiveness?  And will all of those years of commitment pay off or will I end up nowhere with the millions of others who have fallen before us?  I do not judge those who so easily say “God is great, God is good,  I live by his word and by his book”.  Do not judge me for questioning what I’m told to do rather than wanting to learn and research it on my own!

As I said earlier, every book is open to interpretation.  The Bible is the most often manipulated book in history.  People read it, and reread and twist ideas to fit their own needs.  Maybe that’s what I did earlier.  But that is how I see it.  Maybe I am wrong, maybe I am not.  What if, I’m really not?!?!  What happens then?  Do women lose the right to vote?  Do we lose our right to voice our opinion and run households?  Do we lose the years we’ve worked so hard during to be considered equal to our male counterparts?  If you are going to live by the Bible, live it completely and fully, not just to the parts that suit your own personal belief system.  When you can show me even one person who lives and dies by the book, I’ll shut up and not say another word about any of it!!!



One thought on “*GASP* Let’s Talk Religion!

  1. OK, I’m willing to talk religion! I was raised Catholic (dad), Methodist (mom) and after my dad passed away my mom took us and join the Baptist Church (to be with family). Believe me when I say I got a healthy dose of “religion” all my young life. But it was after the death of my husband when I was 28-years old that everything I’d been taught about faith was tested and I cried out to God in anger. I was angry with God for taking my husband and I was angry at my husband for leaving me after he promised that he would never leave. I was standing in the living-room of my mother’s house. It was a few hours after the funeral and after our family and friends had gone home. I felt alone and abandoned and yes very, very angry. My mother, who was standing and watching, walked quietly into the room, took me in her arms and let me cry until I had no tears left. Then we talked. We talked far into the night, nibbling, from time to time, on food that was left. Following is a synopsis of the things that came out of our marathon conversation–these are the words my mother place in my heart and in my spirit………… and thus began my journey of spiritual growth.

    Read the entire article at: nonnasbrushstrokes.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

